Orchid

I don’t want to be strong

Why do I always have to be strong?

I want to be weak

Fragile

Vulnerable

Are these things not for me?

I want to feel safe

Without fear

Of what happens when I’m not strong

They are supposed to protect us

But instead they hurt us

Demean us

Taking us for granted

Slowly

Hardening us

Pressuring us to be

Like coal under pressure

We become diamonds

Beautiful

Strong

But hard with sharp

Edges

I don’t want to be strong

I want to be weak

Fragile

Vulnerable

The orchid is not strong

 It is fragile

It is beautiful

It must be handle with care

It cannot be pressured

It cannot be taken for granted

It takes care and time

And love

I want to be weak, fragile and beautiful

I want to be like the orchid.

Dainty like the orchid

Not like the Diamond

I want to be a flower.

One thought on “Orchid

  1. rainmaidenblog says:

    thank you very much for this. this is just who i am and what i want to be. I dont want to be made to be like a diamond either. I want to be a flower too. Beautiful poem. Thank you so much for sharing

    Like

Leave a Reply

